The Paleo Effect

Hello Everybody, As I have mentioned in previous posts, I have really tried to eat more healthily. It came to my attention that, what I was eating was making me break out and feel sluggish. This change in lifestyle has been unbelievably beneficial for me even though it is such a simplistic concept. What is this concept you ask? I call it, The Paleo Effect. Paleo meaning older or ancient as in Palaeolithic. In diet terms, the way in which the caveman ate. 

tumblr_mkdusyOcpu1rj9v2oo1_500

I chose this lifestyle as an experiment, wondering if it would change me in any way, and boy did it.

Previously to this wondrous change in lifestyle, I never ate particularly unhealthily, but there were common times I didn’t think before I ate, and therefore commonly ate the wrong things. And, by changing from that to all health food, I was skeptical as to whether it would be an easy change or if I would struggle to not turn to the ‘bad stuff’. SIDE NOTE: I don’t like calling it a diet, because I think eating healthy is a lifestyle change more than anything.

Amazingly, I have honestly noticed such a change. I have been on this lifestyle change for 13ish weeks, and my energy levels have skyrocketed and may I add, my skin is clearer and the redness has massively decreased. As I said before, my energy has increased, which helps in my motivation going through school with doing my work and everything else. I have also noticed a mood change. I have been happier within myself, and therefore happier when around others. However, as any lifestyle change, there are always slip ups. I personally, don’t care if I have a few slip ups. I am not going to rid myself of the occasional ‘unhealthy’ meal because of my healthy eating regime. I don’t believe in starving myself of life’s delicious and unhealthy foods just to be healthy forever; I find it impossible to live like that. Honestly, I do have the EXTREMELY occasional McDonalds with my friends or home cooked brownies cooked by my sister (etc…) because I enjoy them. I have stages where I am fully Paleo, and other times where I am loosely on the lifestyle. And personally, I think that is fine. I’m a teenager, and admit I go to the movies with my friends and eat bags of Chocolate and Chips. Also, some nights I’ll come home after a long day and eat rubbish. However, overall I commit to the Paleo regime in my common everyday life and within my meals and most snacks.

I am a strong believer in what I put in my body, will show on the outside. And that is why I want to commit to a healthy lifestyle now, so I can get the life long benefits. Wow, what a both reflective and somewhat informative post (hopefully…hehe). If you aren’t interested in the Paleo Effect but you still what to be healthy then go for it. I agree Paleo is somewhat of an intense and sometimes pricey change, but you can just change from maybe a white bread sandwich at lunch to a salad. Any healthy change can be beneficial to you.

Thank you for reading. I hope you enjoyed this post. I know this was a bit of a different post to what I normally have on my blog, but I really wanted to share my experiences with all of you and I hoped you liked hearing them.

Love, Jess xx

I am not a doctor and all experiences are my own. All opinions are my own.

Picture Link: http://www.tumblr.com/search/tropical%20fruit%20salad

Leave a Reply

