When It’s Time To Move On…

Hey everyone!

 

Today I am going to talk about a subject that is very close to my heart and that I have experienced  in the past years; this is friendship issues. Now, you’re probably wondering why the title of this post is “When its time to move on”- that is because I think it is important to know when a friendship or even a relationship has run its course. When I say run its course, I don’t mean that you have given up – you have just matured enough to know that its time to move on. 

 I have had friendship issues in the past; I have lost friends but made many friends as well. As I am always told, “People come in and out of your life- everyone you meet teaches you something- but you have to know when it’s time to let go- not all friendships last forever.” Recently, I have looked to this statement and learnt from it. I now know that it isn’t bad if you let someone go in your life- because not all friendships or relationships last forever, and it shows your maturity if you can figure that out and let that person go. 

 Earlier this year I was unhappy with feelings about my friendships. I always felt I was trying too hard in my relationships.  It took me a while but I finally realised how unhappy I was and decided to start to distance myself from the friendship. This was hard on me and I would come home crying.  I still deeply cared for the person, I just felt the friendship became really distant because we were growing up; but thats alright. Personally, I think the worst part of leaving a relationship or friendship is the memories that you have. I honestly do still miss the times my lost friends have shared with me and the memories I have of our relationship- and I don’t want to forget those. I know leaving a friendship hurts the other person as well and makes them upset, but I don’t want to continue living an unhappy life just because I’m scared to hurt their feelings. I know this might sound selfish and I hate hurting people (trust me) and it makes me feel absolutely terrible, but I think if you are unhappy it shows that it wasn’t meant to be and maybe you and the other person can still be friends, but at a distance. Both people will probably be better off apart. When it comes to relationships and friendships- I am no expert; so I can’t tell you what to do- it’s your total personal choice. But this is just my personal feelings that I am sharing.

 After I distanced myself I started to feel better because I knew I was doing something good for myself. I was happier and people noticed. My mum would say how happy I was- I wasn’t snapping at people as much and I felt (I know it sounds cliché) more free. 

 I now have a group of friends that I love and who support me and I am happy with my friendships now.

 What I am trying to say is that, it is okay to move on from someone if you are unhappy. Everyone deserves a happy life- so if you are unhappy you need to change that. I know some people don’t have a support system like I do, but there are people out there that can help. You can call on family, friends, or even people you don’t know- to get true and non biased assistance. I think it is so important for people to understand when to leave a relationship for the sake of their happiness. Even though it might not always feel like it,  there is always someone that cares for you more than you can imagine. They want to hear what you have to say and want to help you. Whether it be your mum, dad, sister, best friend etc. or a support group or phone line; they care and you need to understand they are there for you in times where you need help through a troubling relationship. I think knowing that you have a support system makes you happier and assists you to survive the tough times and get to the happy and good times.

 I really hope this helps at least one person out there. Whether you are in a troubling friendship or relationship (like boyfriend and girlfriend), I hope you learn that moving on from a certain relationship doesn’t make you weak, it just shows you are mature and want better for yourself and the other person involved and also that people are always there for you in these situations and will help you through.  Friendships will run their course and will come to a end. This can benefit both people because it is better to have closure to a relationship before it gets really bad.

 

Talk Soon Guys

xxx 

One thought on “When It’s Time To Move On…

  1. i am proud of you jess! it was a big move to post something like this, we (and you know who i mean) will always be here to support you and i treasure your friendship dearly.
    *applause roaring in background*
    you’ve done well my friend.

Leave a Reply

